TOPIX

April 25, 2009 at 2:52 pm (Uncategorized)

It was not until I opened a Facebook account that I heard of the site TOPIX.com  I could not believe my eyes. I don’t feel it was initially intended to be used in such a fashion. The items on this social network were disheartening and cruel. I was not impressed to say the least. This seemed like more teenagers with nothing better to do. One of my friends (great moral individual) on Facebook commented that someone had made a comment about her on Topix. Being the curious self that I am, I checked out the site. I quickly left the site and did not create a membership. I was disgusted by some of the comments posted. A fellow that I went to high school with was killed in a car accident a few weeks ago. Before his body was placed in the ground, people were making horrible comments about him (i.e. glad he died, etc). I know we’re dealing with the internet and nothing is impossible. I wish people such as that would find something more productive to do (get a job, hobby, etc). Just my thoughts…

3 Comments

  1. cafaulkner said,

    The Topix is a site they should take off of internet. It is nothing but a garbage can for people to talk bad about other people. When i mean bad, I mean on the verge of liable. The people who talk on there are weak little people who have no balls to say stuff to a persons face.

  2. Diana said,

    I agree! I was disgusted with my observations. My initial thoughts…these people have WAY TOO MUCH TIME ON THEIR HANDS.

  3. cp2009 said,

    I hate Topix with a passion. I have been there occasionally and seen the goings on there. These people have no shame. I went to the Topix forums of my home town, and was completely disgusted by a post someone made asking who the ugliest girl at the high school was… and even named names. How awful is that? Again, I HATE Topix with a passion.

Leave a Reply

