Homeschool (Pros and Cons)

March 28, 2009 at 1:18 pm (Uncategorized)

 

Pros- Avoids negative influences on behavior, more one to one interaction among educator and student, and familiar learning environment.

Cons- Lack of social interaction with peers, lack of access to interactive materials (SmartBoard, Airliner, etc), and lack of professional development.

Is homeschool the right choice for some students?  I think the answer must be made based on the individuals circumstances.  Socially, one needs that interaction with peers in able to interact appropriate when circumstances arise.  However, from the learning standpoint, homeschool is at times the best choice for students that cannot function in a normal school environment.  There should be guidelines for homeschool.  Parents (or teacher) should be well educated and equipped with the professional development needed to get the job done.  I see many students come into my classroom that have been homeschooled that are not on the academic level of their peers due to lack of education of the educator (which should be a criteria for homeschool). 

3 Comments

  1. elizabeth628 said,

    One of the websites that I read about talked about one of the pros of homeschooling being that students could learn content when they are ready. I think that often parents think that homeschooling sounds like a great idea, but then they get tired of it or realize that it is not as easy as it sounds and then they put the kids back in the school system totally unprepared for what they are about to face. I agree there should be guidelines. I have seen students that are not ready in first grade to read, but I try my very best to get them ready. I know someone who homeschooled her son for about three years and he hated reading so she decided he was not ready. He was put back into the elementary school at 4th grade and he could read at a first grade level. It had nothing to do with his inability to read. He didn’t want to and she didn’t make him.

  2. Diana said,

    I’ve also had that experience with homeschooled children (not all). I had one student that struggled with behavior; therefore, mom withdrew him from the school setting. What a mistake! That child will also need mom to bell him out when things get though. I had a friend that homeschooled her children during the primary years and they’re wonderful readers (very intelligent). However, my friend also had a masters degree. Great example of why guidelines are so important. I’m not saying you must have a degree to homeschool your children. Some are very gifted and are teachers at heart; however, there are some that couldn’t teach a duck to quack (if that makes sense 🙂

  3. Lisa said,

    I can tell that you are posting this from a standpoint of not having had a lot of contact with homeschooled children. Our children have never been to public school. They are well-behaved, and can interact with people of all ages. We, unfortunately, often have to turn down social activities because there are too many of them. The boys have friends over very often, and interact well with neighborhood kids who are in the public school system. They participate in local sports teams (little league – basketball, etc.) I chose homeschooling for a variety of reasons… 1. religious, I do not want to send my child mixed messages by teaching him the age-inappropriate themes our liberal government feels they need to learn (I will teach him to not judge people by their choices, or lifestyles, but I don’t feel that teaching him about homosexuality in kindergarten is appropriate) – I will teach him about evolution, but as a theory, not a indisputable fact. and 2.as a former teacher in the public school system, I know for a fact that the average student is ignored by necessity in public schools. A well behaved child who makes good grades can’t get much one-on-one time, because the teachers are too busy with the trouble makers.

    As for your comment that social interaction with peers is a necessity, I will tell you that as and adult, I have never been in a work situation in which I was only around same-age peers. I feel like interaction with people of all ages and an ability to communicate with people who are different from you is more important that being to act “cool” around people your same age. My kids will readily claim our 96 year old next door neighbor as a “friend” right along side their “friends” who are same-aged. When our homeschool group meets for a “fun day” the older kids play along side the little ones, and help them to swing, or ride their bikes, etc. I personally think the lack of interaction with hundreds of equally immature people is a “pro” of homeschooling, not a “con”.

    I can understand your concerns about children being behind, especially since my younger son is not at grade level with his reading skills – he is above grade level in math, but struggles with reading. But, I feel like he might have been labeled and put in a remedial classroom had he went to public school. His older brother didn’t have problems like that, but little brother is quickly catching up now, and has avoided the stigma attached to a slower development in some areas.

    True, homeschooling is not for everyone, and I feel like the teachers in the public school system, are doing their very best, I’m not in any way attacking them, just defending my personal choice.

Leave a Reply

