What can be done? Silicon Ceiling

February 20, 2009 at 5:44 pm (Uncategorized)

Just as Matwyshyn mentioned, one must chip away the silicon ceiling making way for both male and females in the educational setting.  Making information technology exposable to both and encouraging both to use technology is one way to address the issues discussed of the silicon ceiling.  Matwyshyn made many accurate statements such as the increase of information technology among low income and minority households.  However, their main problem appears to be income.  When one can identify the poverty areas and allow federal funding to make technological access possible, we may see less of a divide.  Schools are bridging the gap; however, once students leave the classroom they do not have the access that others have available.  She also states that “research suggests that access divides increase informational equity, but will not necessarily assist society or increase economic equity.”  I totally agree!  Until students in the classroom are assisted with economic poverty, equity will always be an issue.  What can be done in the educational setting?  It is important that we encourage and expose ALL (regardless of race, economic status, gender, etc) to some form of technology.  In my opinion, allowing students to explore is the number one key.

4 Comments

  1. jmpeck6102 said,

    I think you make a good point about letting students explore for themselves. To help bridge any divide, we need to give students the opportunities to learn how to use technology for themselves, rather than just telling them what to do.

  2. Nate said,

    Remind you of anything… ?

  3. Diana said,

    HA!!!! YES…some similar colleges courses I’ve had 🙂
    Evidence has shown that one can learn a lot by exploring technology without being so dependent on others. I wouldn’t have learned a much if I had step by step instructions. Learning on my own (with little guidance) allows me to remember what I’ve learned.

  4. amy03 said,

    I think the emotions I felt with the course last year helped me exceed my own expectations. I wanted to know more even when I was about to pull my hair out.

Leave a Reply

