Critical Factors in Assessing Educational Equity

February 20, 2009 at 4:08 pm (Uncategorized)

The most critical factor in assessing educational equity is that we have the same opportunities regardless of race, economic status, gender, etc.  After reading Chapter 14, I realize how important an educator’s knowledge can be.  As an educator, it will be my responsibility to expose my students to technology.  If I’m not technologically inclined, how can my students use the available resources in my classroom?  There must be a connection in order to expose students to the society we’re living in.  Educators must have that knowledge in order to bridge the gaps (from a technology aspect).  There are many critical factors that stand in the way of educational equity; in my opinion, gender being one of the least.  I feel the most critical is one’s economic status, which contributes to the opportunities they will have.  I don’t see gender and race being a true issue.  I think their economic status is the key (which is a critical factor).

3 Comments

  1. jmpeck6102 said,

    “As an educator, it will be my responsibility to expose my students to technology. If I’m not technologically inclined, how can my students use the available resources in my classroom? ”

    I think this is part of the reason so many classrooms are really not using the available technology. Teachers get caught up in thinking that certain things are too hard to learn, when all it takes is a little effort. That is often the one thing that we tend to get after students in our classroom. They think the material is too hard, but if they took the time to try to learn, then they might discover that they are not as “stupid” as they think they are.

  2. Erma said,

    I am part of this problem right now. We have a text reader/predictor software that would be great for my kids if they could learn how to use it but I struggle with it myself so I dont teach it. I have been to several P.D’s on this program but just dont seem able to teach it to my children.

  3. Diana said,

    Erma,
    Sounds like you’re trying! That’s a good start. Maybe explore it a bit on your own and then try to tackle it with your students. I just received an Airliner this year. I’ve been on maternity leave but go back to work this week. I plan to learn more about it with my students. I want them to feel comfortable exploring (modeling that I’m not afraid to explore and make mistakes). REMEMBER- MISTAKES are not always a bad…they’re learning experiences. Trying to get back in teacher mode…sorry it sounds cheesy 🙂

Leave a Reply

