Cluetrain and Education

February 6, 2009 at 5:42 pm (Uncategorized)

What does the Cluetrain have to do with Education?  As the attempt was made to bridge the gap between the social worlds of markets and production, it made the social realm almost obsolete.  The same is happening today in education.  We no longer need to call parents when events are happening within school walls.  We now have a machine that calls hundreds of people at one simple demand.  We use online newsletters and blogs to communicate verses conferences.  We ask parents to view electronic data verses sitting down and having a heart to heart discussion.  As with the marketplace, you don’t have to see that friendly face giving you your total.  You can now check yourself out and see the friendly computer screen.   It’s made a great change among many.  Who needs to practice social skills, when the computer does it for us?

 

I found an intersting site dicussing the book…check it out…

http://www.conversationagent.com/2008/04/the-cluetrain-m.html

8 Comments

  1. teachertoolbox said,

    I forgot about the All Call system as an example………just last week I started calling parents to let them know we were releasing students an hour early. I had already called several parents before another teacher informed an All Call had already been sent out. I find I have trouble trusting the technology, even though I knew parents had been informed, I was so tempted to call anyway. I like that person to person contact; technology has a way of getting in the way of that. IThis is totally off topic, but I worry sometimes that teenagers growing up today are going to have a hard time in the real world, because they spend so much time socializing in the virtual one.

  2. Diana said,

    I agree, It does seem to create a more anti-social world because so many have adapted to the virtual world of socializing.

  3. Candace said,

    Not just teenagers socialize in virtual worlds. I find myself doing it a lot too. I wonder if it’s bad for me.

  4. Nate said,

    “It does seem to create a more anti-social world because so many have adapted to the virtual world of socializing.”

    That’s rather a broad statement that doesn’t seem to be supported by any evidence for a causal relationship, don’t you think?

  5. Diana said,

    In my personal opinion, teenagers do not have the social skills as did in past years. Whether that is due to the virtual world could be investigated further. However, I feel it has an impact due to personal experience. I guess you are being social in the virtual world; however, face to face contact is becoming more obsolete. When I say “Anti-social,” I’m not referring to a horrible or negative term…only lack of social time face to face conversation. It is a broad term but I think it is based on what area you’re discussing. It seems teenagers spend less time interacting with real world situation and more time pretending the virtual world. What happens when they face those situations in the real world…what will be the outcome? Just my opinion, not researched.

  6. Nate said,

    Ah, another of those semantic pitfalls.

    “Anti-social” actually has a meaning that isn’t “lack of social time face to face conversation” … hence my confusion. It means “hostile to or disruptive of normal standards of social behavior” or “shunning contact with others.”

    As for the idea that online interaction is .. somehow .. pretending, I’m not sure that’s the case either. I know it might *look* like that, but some research from Duke purports to find that people who practice Zen meditation in real life, experience many of the physiological changes of actual practice when they watch their avatars going thru the motions in SecondLife. (I’m really looking forward to when they publish this.) It’s been a long standing mantra among those who frequent online spaces that only the avatars are virtual. The people at the keyboards are all too real.

    They may not be what they claim to be, but they are very real.

    I’m not convinced that this online activity is any more problematic than the worry over kids of *my* generation would not be able to deal with society because we watched cartoons on ALL Saturday morning instead of going out to play … cartoons that are deemed so violent today that many of the funniest bits have been censored out.

    The danah boyd article on social networks really underscored the reality on this.

    It’s not that the online interactions are replacing the face-to-face. It’s that the opportunities for face-to-face are evaporating and this is the only substitution available. If kids today can’t go hang out at the corner store or the mall and get face time then what are the alternatives? Stay home and not have *any* interaction?

    I believe that this is one of the red-herring issues and the causal relationship (online is replacing face-to-face) doesn’t really stand up to scrutiny. I think it may be more accurate to say online is filling in the lack of opportunity for face-to-face, and that without the online there wouldn’t be more face time, there’d be less socialization.

    Just my opinion, too.

  7. Diana said,

    I see…when I looked up Anti-Social, I received “holding an opposing view/somebody with an opposing view.” When I thought of anti-social I thought someone who opposes face to face interactions (or would rather avoid them). I know personally, I like to email at times instead of face to face conversations. It seems much easier. I understand your thoughts completely. I’m still thinking…. I understand that online has filled some voids; however, I can’t help but think of all those moments when people choose to IM or email verses a visit. I do follow you and see where you’re coming from. I guess my interpretation of the meaning was different or inaccurate.

  8. amy03 said,

    I was listening to the radio this morning and heard the announcer state how many hours in a week that teenagers are on face book, blogs, and so on. It was amazing. We are def. moving towards a generation that is using differnet socializing networks. I guess instead of face to face, it will be avatar to avatar. I was trying to make a joke, I know I am corny.

Leave a Reply

