Assessment at a Distance: Cheating?

October 25, 2008 at 4:38 pm (Uncategorized)

What are the factors that promote “cheating?” Are they realistic? How is the perception different from the reality?

I totally agree with Dr. Lowell that much time and emphasis goes into cheating.  It sounds simple, but done properly…should have done the work yourself.  In my opinion, assessment at a distance is a great resource that is taken advantage of from time to time (however, what in this world is not taken advantage of).  If you’re giving true assessments that are engaging and learning based, one should not want to cheat.  I must say, I had numerous college courses that were a total waste of time and money.  I learned absolutely noting and spent my time writing silly papers that I will never look at again.  Did this help me with learning?  No…just wasted my valuable time.  Assessments do not always need be research papers, written open response, etc.  As Dr. Lowell mentioned in his post, you can tell when something doesn’t seem ones own (especially if you’ve worked with that person over a period of time).  Factors that promote cheating: boring, worthless, no reliable assignments.  Reality is that you can’t keep everything error free.  There will be those few that press the limit.  For the most part, if assignments are true learning based, students will want to complete the assignment.  In my opinion, making assessments fun and valid will ensure that your students give you a true result.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Colby Johnson said,

    I agree.
    I had so many classes in college that was a waste of my time and money. I think students typically want to learn the material on their own and enjoy the sense of accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

