The Teacher’s Pet…MY FAVORITE

October 8, 2008 at 9:38 pm (Uncategorized)

Now let’s face the facts…everyone needs a teacher’s pet.  Now must we pat them on the head everyday and make everyone see that they’re the teacher’s pet…HEAVEN’S NO!  However, some students are more gifted and talented than others.  I hate to even admit that because I am a parent.  However, I can’t help but think of that one student in my classroom who could teach the class if I needed her to.  She knows exactly what to do, when to do it, and always completes assignments with 100% effort (but is by no means a “know-it-all”).  This learner is always focused and dedicated.  Yes, she makes mistakes but accepts responsibility and corrects her actions (without the usual drawn out role play…but, but, but).  If I were her…I would feel as if I earned that honor.  I suppose the big question is “where do they come into play?”  If used properly, they could fit into almost any scheme.  If a teacher’s pet is someone who is just favored because they have red hair or looks like your child…doesn’t really make for a good scenario.  However, if learner is a teacher’s pet because they’re responsible, attentive, respectful, and basically a well rounded individual makes it easier to be placed into the scheme of things. 

Leave a Reply

