Filling the Gap (Standard and Lesson Plans)

September 24, 2008 at 12:08 am (Uncategorized)

When filling the gap between Standard and Lesson Plan, I feel the most important factor is my students.  Regardless of the Standards, my students are at multiple learning levels.  My lesson plans are always guided by the standards; however, they’re tweaked to meet the needs of my students (with extensions and modifications).  Not all students will meet the standards at the level of quality by the norm.  In my opinion, lesson plans are used to guide you through the state standards (norms) and help students survive in the norm. 

In order to fill the gap, I use all means possible to introduce and reinforce the concepts (standards).  I use my plans to guide me through each lesson using manipulatives and materials to reinforce the concept.  Meeting the different learning styles in my classroom means that I must work very hard to fill in those gaps of performance based on plans and standards.  I can use technology, formative/ summative assessments, guided inquiry learning, etc.  Determining the gaps with the most importance seems to be the major problem.  Finding the best possible way to fill the gap seems to be the challenge for most educators.

3 Comments

  1. Amy Howard said,

    “Finding the best possible way to fill the gap seems to be the challenge for most educators.”

    This statement made me think of the students that I serve at school. There are multiple levels of readers in the school. I provide extra intervention to the lowest level of readers in grades K-3rd. There is not enough time in the day to pull all the students that would benefit from extra help. The school day gives so many hours to teach students and it has to be shared with humanities, lunch, and recess. How can we give that extra help to help struggling students?

  2. carla said,

    so true… got a questions

    I hear all of this extensions/ modifications and I understand the modifications are for IEP’s but what are some examples of extensions that you ‘really’ use in your class.

  3. Diana Jackson said,

    Carla,
    With all due respect, extensions and modifications go way beyond IEP’s. If I only make modifications/ extensions for those students with IEP’s, all my other students will fall within the cracks. For example, when I see a student that can not master counting coins yet does not have an IEP, I take one day a week and work with those students (hands-on/ 1:1 ratio). Same for extensions…why continue to enforce a topic when the child has mastered the concept. When counting coins successfully, I allow students to work in math centers where they have additional challenges (word problems with coins using coin combinations). I only have six IEP’s in my classroom, yet I make modifications on a daily basis. In my opinion, that’s how you fill the gap. I must tell you the same thing I am told at the end of each day (by the principal of course) “If you’re not tired, you didn’t do your job.” Hope this answered your question.

Leave a Reply

