Education 2050

September 20, 2008 at 5:50 pm (Uncategorized)

I recommend everyone watch the video clip below about Education in 2050.  After writing my post about my advanced toolbox, Mr. Szemberg attached a video clip from TVO that was very interesting.  We have all heard of Mark Prensky from our previous online chats.  Some would disagree, but I really enjoyed this synapses of social networks and school.  I must agree with some of the reasoning and understand why it’s important to change with time.  Check it out and let me know your thoughts.

http://www.tvo.org/TVO/WebObjects/TVO.woa?video?TAWSP_Dbt_20080918_779329_0

2 Comments

  1. Angel Elliott said,

    I was intrigued about your post and went to the link and watched about 10 minutes of the video. I, too, agree with some of the reasoning about the need for change in schools. The very beginning of the discussion about the brain continuing to grow was the most interesting. My mom and aunt are convinced that as long as they are learning something new, albeit through reading or playing games that make them think, then they will delay the onset of Alzheimer’s. Seems like they may just be right about that.

  2. Diana Jackson said,

    Angel,
    Interesting assumption about Alzheimers. I’ve always heard that exercising your brain (regardless of age) will keep it sharp (which makes perfect sense). I once knew an elderly lady who loved to complete word puzzles. She was in her seventies and loved the challenge. In her case, at seventy, it worked. She could recite recipes, directions, old memories as if they were right at her fingertips. She was constantly challenging herself which amazed me. However, she had a positive attitude to go along with the challenge (which makes a huge difference).

Leave a Reply

