Hijacked Blog Page

September 12, 2008 at 10:25 pm (Uncategorized)

The creator of Moving at the Speed of Creativity posted a message concerning someone hijacking their blog page.  I found this very interesting.  I’ve heard of misfortunes before but this beats it all.  Numerous invisible links were appended below his posts. 

He suggests: “If you have and host your own WordPress blog I’d recommend you check it for this same issue. You can check by choosing VIEW – SOURCE CODE in your web browser and looking down at the bottom of the page in the footer for spam links. I’ve checked one of my other WordPress blog instances and it’s been corrupted/attacked with this same exploit too. -(
At least now I know how to fix it– I think.”

Check out the link below for more information…

http://www.speedofcreativity.org/2008/09/12/good-morning-your-wordpress-blog-has-been-hacked/

2 Comments

  1. Wesley Fryer said,

    I think you should be OK running WordPress on wordpress.com where they maintain and update the installations. I think this warning applies just to folks who are hosting their own installations on an ISP or their own servers. I don’t know, however, I am still in the dark about exactly how someone was able to exploit a vulnerability and get these spam links into my template file. 😦

  2. Nate said,

    This exploit has been around for a long time. I haven’t been infrected myself (yet), but i keep an eye on it.

Leave a Reply

