The Wiki

September 9, 2008 at 11:07 pm (Uncategorized)

I had never heard of this term before beginning my journey through the technology program.  I’ve done some research and found that a wiki can be a very resourceful tool for online and classroom based courses.  After checking out the link below, I learned just how helpful the wiki can be.  This particular example is from The Thinking Stick.  He explains how helpful it would be if everyone contributed to a tech tips wiki.  If everyone would add useful tools for the computer then we could have them all at our fingertips.  I’m still not certain how to use it within the elementary setting; however, it still poses as a wonderful tool for the classroom (online or traditional).

In the classroom, we can use a wiki to make a community webpage.  Students can participate and collaborate together to gain and assess knowledge.  With online education, it can be used as a resourceful tool that can help us collect data.    As the example given, we could compile a list of resources we could use in this course to help us better communicate with one another (not saying that blogging is not a wonderful tool). 

So…how does it work?  What is it good for? How much skill does it take?  Obviously more skill than I have at the current time.  To be completely honest, I used wikipedia under external links (bb).  It was very helpful and explained the basics.  How it works/ skill…More to come…I’m learning a day at a time.  It’s good for collaborating and collecting important resources used everyday.  How does this tool change…the only thing I noticed about a wiki…it  can be edited and revised by others…not always a good thing.  With all technology, it quickly advances and one must stay current with new tech.

http://www.thethinkingstick.com/?p=730

4 Comments

  1. Teacher Tim from EDUC 685 said,

    the only obvious drawback to a wiki is that since there is supposed to be a free exchange of ideas, you have to experience the intentional knucklehead factor. Reference Steve Colbert’s experiments with wikipedia- his followers will go and intentionally change entries to whatever he wants them to be, and always intentionally false. How are you going to weed out the intentional knuckleheads in your own classroom who would think it would be cool to throw a wrench in your otherwise useful software collaboration system.

  2. Diana Jackson said,

    Tim,
    You’re exactly right; however, it is a tool used for online education. Not all tools work the way we intend for them to. We must take the good with the bad. I personally would not use this with secondary education (myself). I do realize they can be edited by others with random thoughts that have no truth. Do you think “BEWARE ALL KNUCKLEHEADS” would work? Just kidding!!!! I must agree with you and say that I have never used a wiki within the classroom so I don’t have that first hand experience. This might not be a top priority for the basic toolbox for distance education.

  3. Nate said,

    Um, requiring a login would tell you who made the change and most wiki’s keep a version history so you know which knucklehead to give the F to.

    That seems pretty straightforward to me.

    We’ll be talking more about Wikis 😉

  4. amy03 said,

    I had my first experience with a wiki in a class this summer. It is great that you can have a community of people leave commments and add information to a thread. What I didn’t like was the way tables and images were inserted. It was difficult for me becuase it was text commands. Some of my entries were deleted too. There is a history so my professor could go back and find my entry and put it back in. I really didn’t enjoy using it, but thats me.

Leave a Reply

