Critique of EDUC 685

September 2, 2008 at 9:47 pm (Uncategorized)

I know it is not the end of the week but I hate to wait so late to post.  At this point, I don’t know whether I’m coming or going.  I feel like at any second my head could explode.  I am taking in so much information between two graduate classes, teaching a new grade in school, faculty meetings, church,  one toddler, expecting number two (hormone central), and bills/ family that I often wonder if I’m really alive and well.  I try to hold close the quote my dad always told me’ “What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.”  I have learned so much in this class thus far. 

I also enjoy the freedom of writing posts of our choice.  I can not stay by the computer all day to read posts, so usually when I get home I have a million to read.  We have a policy at my school where we can check emails, etc during planning or lunch.  So that pretty much ruins that idea.  The gator is very helpful in terms of reading other blogs and keeping up with additional information.  As of last night, I had 47 adware on my computer.  I have AVG and Ad Aware on my computer; however, they still seem to sneak through.  Things have been a little crazy! I think I have the problem solved and I’m off to begin MY WEEK…that is definitely spiraling out of control. 

I can’t really say anything negative about the class other than the workload, yet I expected a large workload considering it being a graduate course.  I am not afraid to get my feet wet and dive into the mud; however, time is a major issue.  I feel like I have no spare time for anything.  I want to do more and comment more, but can’t seem to find the right time or opportunity.  I have read some posts and took from emails that many think this class is crazy and pointless. 

At the beginning I would have totally agreed, because I did not see the true educational experience that was taking place.  I hope to get from the course a sense of freedom.  Not from workload but freedom from the educational world.  I hate thinking about EVERYTHING in terms of the classroom, education, etc.  For once, I would like to learn and it be for my benefit.  So far, this class has done just that.  I had no idea before this class how to make a blog, gator, or IM.  I’m not the most experienced; however, I feel I’m off to a decent start. 

Leave a Reply

